Update! If dairy-free ice cream custom ordered with your flavors of choice and made instantly before your eyes sounds too good to be true, then you haven’t been to a Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream shop. They use liquid nitrogen to flash freeze your ice cream, which also eliminates ice crystals. That said, they have told us that the vegan varieties are a bit more like ice milk in consistency, but still quite good. And you can choose from all of the mix-ins and flavors below.
Dairy-Free Guide to Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream
All of the following dairy-free options at Sub Zero Ice Cream are also gluten-free, egg-free, and soy-free, unless otherwise noted, according to the company. You choose the base, your flavors, and mix-ins, and they prepare your dairy-free ice cream in your own bowl. The nitrogen blast, or “dragon’s breath” does not contain any top allergens.
- Almond Milk
- Cashew Milk
- Oat Milk (might not be certified gluten-free)
- Coconut Milk
Heads Up! All of the above are also vegan. Which options are available at each location does vary. Some just have one dairy-free base option, others have multiple. They previously offered soymilk and rice milk bases, but these no longer seem to be available. There is a lactose-free base, but it is just free of lactose (milk sugar). It is not dairy free.
- Blue Cotton Candy
- Bubble Gum
- Butter Pecan
- Cake Batter (contains wheat)
- Dark Chocolate
- Dr Pepper
- Peanut Butter (contains peanut and soy)
- Pink Cotton Candy
- Pina Colada
- Pumpkin Spice
- Tiger’s Blood
Heads Up! According to the allergen information from Sub Zero Ice Cream all flavors noted above are top allergen-free, except as noted. But verify before ordering. Brownie Batter, Dulce de Leche, Malt, Nutella, and White Chocolate were the only flavors that were listed as containing milk at the time of our review.
- Brownie Bites (contains wheat and soy)
- Graham Cracker Crumb (contains wheat)
- Gummy Bears
- Maraschino Cherries
- Mixed Berries
- Oreos (contains wheat and soy)
- Rainbow Sprinkles (contains soy)
Heads Up! All of the above items at Sub Zero Ice Cream are also egg-free, but they are not all vegan. Obviously, the nuts are tree nuts or peanuts.
Toppings & Other
- Chocolate Syrup (not the Hot Fudge)
- Marshmallow Crème
Heads Up! The whipped topping at Sub Zero Ice Cream is lactose-free and might be labeled as non-dairy, but it is not dairy free. Their waffle cones and bowls do contain dairy.
More Allergen Notes from Sub Zero Ice Cream
According to Sub Zero Ice Cream, their processes help them to be allergy-friendly.
There is no danger of cross-contamination, because for every new order we use a new, clean bowl, and we use a different measuring cup to measure the non-dairy base than the one we use for the dairy ice cream bases.
They can also get fresh toppings from the back, on request. But despite their confidence, there is always some degree of risk for cross-contamination with allergens in a food handling environment. Always speak with the staff to ensure you feel their processes and ingredients are safe enough for you.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Where to Find Sub Zero Nitrogen Ice Cream
They have about 40 locations scattered across the U.S. See their website below for addresses, hours, contact information, and online ordering.
Average Reader Review
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)