Believe it or not, Bisquick Original Pancake & Baking Mix has been a convenient staple in many dairy-free households for years. But sometimes, formulas change, and it’s important to be aware of labels – particularly during times when there are production and supply issues. This post covers the dairy-free bisquick options, what’s recently changed, making your own pancake and baking mix, and dairy-free recipes that use Bisquick.
Is Bisquick Dairy Free? What You Need and Want to Know …
Bisquick Original is made with wheat, and it contains highly refined soy oil, which isn’t disclosed as an allergen. But it has been free of dairy, eggs, nuts, and what is considered (by FDA labeling laws) allergenic soy. In fact, it’s repeatedly certified kosher pareve.
But in 2020, some of the Original Bisquick boxes began featuring a new label that states, “now contains egg, milk, and soy ingredients.” It’s accompanied by an ingredient statement that includes egg, nonfat milk, and soy flour.
Consumers inquired, but were getting mixed messages from the company’s website and customer service. Fortunately, I managed to get in touch more directly with corporate, and received the following information from the brand lead on Bisquick.
The change is temporary due to increased demand and manufacturing challenges. This formula change only impacts our 96 oz. sold at Club stores. We are still largely producing non-allergenic Bisquick in the 96 oz. size, which is available in Retail stores.
Large companies often use various manufacturing facilities, and a range of suppliers, which is why only some of their products are affected by this change. How long will this modified big-block store formula will be on shelves? That information isn’t available. But if customer reception is any indicator, it will definitely be short lived. Most reviews of this “now contains eggs, milk, and soy” formula are very poor.
Photo by Angela B. in Deliciously Dairy Free
Dairy-Free Bisquick Options (also Vegan-Friendly)
Most of the “enhanced” varieties of Bisquick contain milk, like the Buttermilk and Complete versions. But the following “traditional” varieties are made without any dairy ingredients. Substitute dairy-free milk beverage or water for the milk when making the pancake, waffle, or biscuit recipes on the back of the package. For egg-free preparation, see our egg substitute guide.
Bisquick Original (not from Club Stores)
The standard sizes and large sizes not sold at Club stores are still vegan, and made without dairy and eggs. Hopefully, in the near future, the Club store varieties will go back to their dairy-free formula.
Bisquick Original Ingredients (not from Club Stores): enriched flour bleached (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oil (palm canola and/or soybean oil), corn starch, dextrose, leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), salt, sugar, datem, monoglycerides.
Temporary Formula (2020/2021) in 96-ounce Club Store Boxes only contains egg, nonfat milk, and soy flour.
Bisquick Heart Smart
This was the “original dairy-free” Bisquick in my mind. It became available when classic Bisquick was going through a dairy phase.
Bisquick Heart Smart Ingredients: enriched flour bleached (wheat flour, niacin, iron, thiamin mononitrate, riboflavin, folic acid), vegetable oil (soybean and/or canola oil), leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), dextrose, sugar, tricalcium phosphate, salt, datem.
Bisquick Gluten Free
Since inception, this variety has been made without dairy, eggs, nuts, and soy of any kind.
Bisquick Gluten-Free Ingredients: rice flour, sugar, leavening (baking soda, sodium aluminum phosphate, monocalcium phosphate), modified potato starch, salt, xanthan gum.
Homemade Dairy-Free Bisquick
You can also make your own dairy-free Bisquick, which is even cheaper! It can also be stored at room temperature, but we like to store any open flours in the refrigerator or freezer when space permits.
Leave a Reply