This Italian restaurant chain, formally known as Johnny Carino’s, was actually founded in Austin, Texas. They serve the classic array of popular Italian-American dishes, including pastas and pizzas. When we first posted about them a decade ago, the dairy-free options were slim. But they now have just enough items to make dining worth while.
Dairy-Free Menu Guide to Johnny Carino’s
You’ll have to pass on the appetizers, bread, and desserts at Carino’s, but there are enough dairy-free items on their menu to satisfy most appetites.
Johnny’s 15-Minute Wings
- Boneless Wings (All: Buffalo, Chipotle, Garlic Teriyaki, Johnny’s BBQ, Sriracha Habanero, Sweet Chili, BBQ Spice, Cajun Seasoning, Crushed Red Pepper, Lemon Pepper)
Heads Up! The traditional bone-in Hot Wings at Carino’s do contain milk.
Soup & Salad
- House Salad with House Dressing
Heads Up! Their allergen menu lists the Caesar as dairy-free without the dressing but it’s topped with parmesan! All soups at Carino’s contain milk.
- BBQ Combo (with Chicken Breast, Shrimp, Baby Back Ribs, St Louis Ribs, Pork, Tri Tip Beef, or Brisket)
- Bluepoint Mussels and Shrimp (select locations)
- Seafood Fettuccine with Red Sauce
- Tri Tip Taco (select locations)
Heads Up! The Sirloin Steak and all Chicken Specialties at Carino’s contain milk. Their Classic American Burger also contains milk, even without cheese added. So we believe the buns at Carino’s must contain dairy. Also, they like to sprinkle cheese on everything at Carino’s. Make sure they leave the parma off your meal.
More Options: The Angel Hair with Artichokes and Five Meat Tuscan Pasta can be ordered dairy-free on request. The former can also be vegan-friendly. Several meat and fish fillets can be prepared dairy-free on request without butter and sauces.
Create Your Own Pasta
- Pasta: All Noodles (no gluten-free option available)
- Protein: Grilled Chicken, Grilled Shrimp, Italian Sausage
- Sauce: Meat Sauce, Tomato Sauce, Spicy Marinara Sauce
Heads Up! The Meatballs at Carino’s do contain milk.
Go Cheeseless! According to a Carino’s representatives, their Pizza Dough and Pizza Sauce are dairy-free. So you can customer order dairy-free, cheese-free pizzas. They do not have a vegan cheese alternative at this time.
- Pasta with Grilled Chicken and Tomato Sauce
- Chicken Nuggets
- Grilled Chicken
- French Fries
- Rosemary Potatoes
- Vegetable Medley
Heads Up! The Table Bread at Carino’s does contain milk.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Where to Find Johnny Carino’s
Average Reader Review
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)