If I did a poll, and asked a thousand dairy-free people what their happiest dairy-free surprise was, I’m sure the winner would be Oreos. Those beloved chocolate sandwich crème cookies have been made without dairy for as long as I can remember. According to PETA, Oreo cookies are even an “accidentally vegan” treat. And the milkless options go well beyond the Original flavor! See the guide below to discover all of the dairy-free Oreo cookies available for dunking in your favorite milk beverage.
Photos from Nabisco
Yes, Oreos are Dairy-Free, and Now They Make Gluten-Free Too
Nabisco has announced the launch of certified gluten-free Oreo Cookies in not one, but two varieties. These wheat-less sandwich cookies will ironically hit shelves in Original and Double Stuf flavors in January. They won’t be here for cookie season, but are landing just in time to shatter countless New Year’s resolutions.
Oreo is unwilling to share the ingredients just yet, but a previewer stated they are milk-free, and there are hints that the gluten-free cookies will also be vegan-friendly. We’ll update the dairy-free list below once the ingredients are available.
Which Oreo Cookies are Dairy-Free by Ingredients? All of These!
This list includes all varieties that are dairy-free by ingredients, which we can currently find information and availability for. Limited edition flavors often cycle with the seasons, so we’ll keep adding them as they pop up. Online you might see some other unique flavors sold for a premium. Oreo cookies are produced in various versions around the world. But keep in mind that some foreign versions aren’t quite the same as these American classics.
Dairy-Free Flavors of Oreos
Bonus Dairy-Free Oreo Items
These Oreos Contain Milk
There might be more – Oreo has hundreds of product variations. But these are the ones we’ve found to date that contain dairy.
- Fudge Covered
- Mint Fudge Covered
- White Fudge Covered
- Thin Bites Fudge Dipped
- Thin Bites White Fudge Dipped
Why are Oreo Cookies Certified Kosher Dairy?
Oreos are made in a shared facility where both their non-dairy and dairy varieties are handled. For that reason, the kosher certifier requires a dairy certification, even on the flavors without dairy. You can read more about this topic in our Kosher Labeling Guide for Dairy-Free Consumers.
An outdated article on a kosher website (from 2013) states that only the original Oreo flavors are made without dairy, but this is no longer true. Most flavors of Oreo cookies are now made without dairy. But like all products, they carry some degree of risk for cross-contamination.
If you are concerned about potential cross contamination with milk, contact the company to learn more about their processes before purchasing and consuming. Only you can decide if a food is safe for your needs.
Are Other Sandwich Creme Cookies Dairy Free?
Oreo isn’t the only game in town. There are many brands of sandwich creme cookies that just happen to be dairy-free by ingredients. In fact, most are. Look for Newman O’s, Back to Nature, and select Lotus Biscoff varieties for wheat-based options. For gluten-free, try Kinnikinnick or Mi-Del. And many store brand sandwich creme cookies are dairy-free – just check the labels!
Dairy-Free Recipes using Oreo Cookies!
Enjoy all of the following goodies with your favorite sandwich creme cookies.