Last Update in August 2021! After decades of loyalty to their classic bread recipes, Subway has unveiled new “white” and “wheat” breads. Don’t worry, they’re still dairy-free! In fact, they’ve changed sources for some additional menu items, making them dairy-free, too. In lockstep, we’ve revamped our whole Subway dairy-free menu guide. And we’ve added notes for egg-free, gluten-free, nut-free, peanut-free, and vegan guests.
The Subway Dairy-Free Menu Guide with Additional Allergen Notes
Subway employees are trained to put cheese on every order, but almost all Subway sandwiches, wraps, bowls, and salads can be custom ordered dairy-free. In fact, at last check, the only sandwich that couldn’t be custom ordered without dairy was the meatball sub! Just make sure to say “no cheese” and choose from the dairy-free breads, proteins, condiments, and other toppings below. Please note that this guide is for the U.S. specifically. Options and ingredients may vary in other countries, so be sure to verify your needs are met when ordering.
Additional Allergen Notes: On request, most Subway employees have been trained to change their gloves, use a clean knife, and place a fresh wrapper between your sandwich and the work station to help minimize allergen cross contamination. All of the following Subway items are listed as nut-free and peanut-free by ingredients. They are also listed as gluten-free and egg-free, unless otherwise noted. For soy-free needs, please see their ingredient guide. Several items do contain soy, or have “may contain” warnings for soy. In most cases, the soy ingredient is soy lecithin or soy oil.
Breads & Wraps
- Artisan Italian (contains gluten)
- Hearty Multigrain (contains gluten)
- Sourdough (regional availability)
- Gluten-Free (regional availability; contains egg)
- Artisan Flatbread (see Note below; contains gluten)
- Spinach Wrap (contains gluten)
- Tomato Basil Wrap (contains gluten)
Heads Up! The Artisan Flatbread is made without milk ingredients, but the manufacturer notes a “may contain milk” statement due to possible cross-contamination in the production process. Select locations might offer pizza, but please note that Subway’s pizza crust does contain milk.
- Bacon Strips
- Black Forest Ham
- Cold Cut Combo Meats
- Egg Omelet Patty (contains egg)
- Egg White Omelet Patty (contains egg)
- Eggs, Cage-Free (regional availability; contains egg)
- Egg Whites, Cage-Free (regional availability; contains egg)
- Genoa Salami
- Grilled Chicken
- Grilled Chicken with Buffalo Sauce (regional availability)
- Grilled Chicken with Teriyaki Glaze (contains gluten)
- Italian BMT Meats (ham, pepperoni, salami)
- Oven Roasted Chicken Patty
- Pastrami (regional availability)
- Rotisserie-Style Chicken
- Spicy Italian Meats (pepperoni, salami)
- Tuna Salad (contains egg)
- Turkey Breast, Oven Roasted
- Veggie Patty (regional availability)
Heads Up! The Meatballs in Marinara do contain milk.
Condiments & Dressings
- Buffalo Sauce
- Creamy Sriracha (regional availability; contains egg)
- Honey Mustard Sauce
- Mayonnaise Light (contains egg)
- Mayonnaise, Regular (contains egg)
- Mustard (Yellow)
- Red Wine Vinegar
- Sweet Onion Sauce
Heads Up! In addition to any cheesy and ranch-style sauces, the Caesar and Chipotle Southwest Sauces do contain dairy.
- Banana Peppers
- Black Olives
- Green Peppers
- Jalapeno Pepper Slices
- Smashed Avocado
- Beef Chili with Beans (regional availability; contains gluten)
Heads Up! In addition to the cheesy varieties, the Chicken Noodle soup at Subway does contain milk.
- Gluten-Free Brownie (regional availability; contains egg)
Heads Up! Unfortunately, their regular wheat brownies, all cookies, muffins, and cinnamon rolls contain milk.
The Veggie Patty and all non-meat items listed above that do not contain honey or egg (as noted) are vegan-friendly. Please note that some countries outside of the U.S. offer a veggie patty that contains milk and egg.
This Post is for Informational Purposes Only
Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, and restaurants are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure that they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.
There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.
Where to Find Subway
Subway has over 45,000 locations in more than 100 countries. The above guide is for the U.S. locations, but there are many similarities throughout the globe. See their website below for addresses, hours, and ordering, and be sure to verify any dietary needs at your location.
Average Reader Review
5 out of 5 stars (based on 1 review)
Rate Your Dairy-Free Experience with this Restaurant
What Others Are Saying …
Great article, you can avoid milk at Subway easily!
October 11, 2020
Thanks for this article, it is very accurate and there’s nothing worse than getting very sick from a small ingredient with milk. If you don’t get your subs toasted, you can always take out the cheese afterwards too because it won’t be melted in. The condiments and dressings part of this post are really good, it’s the sauces that always gets me.
Leave a Reply