Trader Joe’s doesn’t want to call it ice cream, but for clarity sake, we’d describe it as dairy-free oat milk ice cream. The base of Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Oat Frozen Dessert is made with oats, water, and coconut oil instead of dairy cream. But it’s still a creamy, churned mixture that’s packed into pints and frozen.
Photo from Trader Joe’s.
Trader Joe’s Oat Frozen Dessert Joins their Dairy-Free Ice Cream Selection
Their oat variety has launched in just one flavor, but to make it special, they’ve spiked it with vegan almond brittle and candied strawberries. It’s also naturally colored with beet juice and annatto, which create a pretty pink hue.
Strawberry with Almond Brittle & Candied Strawberries
This is a soft, lightly creamy oat milk ice cream that’s relatively easy to scoop. The ice cream itself doesn’t contain any real strawberries, which might be why the flavor isn’t as purely intense. But the candied strawberries help. The brittle adds nice texture, but isn’t an overly sweet brittle.
Ingredients: oat base (water, oats), tapioca syrup, coconut oil, dextrose, invert sugar, chicory root extract (inulin), agave syrup, almond brittle (cane sugar, almonds), candied strawberries (strawberries, glucose syrup, sugar), maltodextrin, mono- and diglycerides of fatty acids, pink salt, sunflower lecithin, color added (red beet juice, annatto extract, citric acid [to maintain color]), pea protein concentrate, carob bean gum, natural flavor. contains almond, coconut.*
Nutrition (per 2/3 cup): 260 calories, 10g fat, 39g carbs, 5g fiber, 22g sugars (includes 20g added sugars), 1g protein.*
More Facts on Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Oat Frozen Dessert
Price: $3.99 per pint
Availability: Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Oat Frozen Dessert is sold exclusively at Trader Joe’s stores in the U.S. Look for it in the frozen dessert section.
Certifications: Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Oat Frozen Dessert is Certified Kosher DE (for dairy equipment, not ingredients; see our Understanding Kosher Guide).
Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Trader Joe’s Non-Dairy Oat Frozen Dessert is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, and vegetarian. But they do not specify the use of gluten-free oats, so this product might not be safe for celiacs.*
For More Product Information: Visit the Trader Joe’s website at www.traderjoes.com.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.
Average Reader Review
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)