Despite the popularity of Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese alternative, the hip supermarket chain has opted to completely change their recipe. They’ve swapped chickpea protein for the soy protein, cut the cornstarch, and switched up several other ingredients. It still looks enticing, but how does it taste?
Trader Joe’s Changes Vegan Cream Cheese Recipe, Now It’s Soy-Free!
Rumor has it, the new version of Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese alternative is firmer than the old one, but still quite tasty. Be sure to leave your own rating and review below once you try it. It helps others make an informed purchasing decision.
Ingredients: water, coconut oil, modified potato starch, chickpea protein, sugar, salt, natural flavors, sodium citrate, deactivated yeast, lactic acid, citric acid, yeast extract, guar gum, xanthan gum, nisin.
Nutrition (per 2 tablespoons): 90 calories, 9g fat, 4g carbs, 0g fiber, 0g sugars (includes 0g added sugars), 0g protein.*
More Allergen Notes
Some of you might be concerned about the ingredient nisin in the new formulation. This preparation can be made from milk, but in this case, it is not. There is no milk disclaimer on this product.
Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative Prior Formula
You might still see the old recipe in some stores. The ingredients were actually quite different, and contain soy. The old ingredients are: filtered water, coconut oil, mid-oleic sunflower oil, soy protein concentrate, cornstarch, sea salt, tricalcium phosphate, natural flavors, xanthan gum, locust bean gum, guar gum, vegan culture, lactic acid (non-dairy).
More Facts on Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative
- Price: $2.79 per 8-ounce tub
- Availability: Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative is sold exclusively at Trader Joe’s stores in the U.S.
- Certifications: We did not note any certifications on Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative.
- Dietary Notes: By ingredients, Trader Joe’s Vegan Cream Cheese Alternative is dairy-free / non-dairy, egg-free, gluten-free, grain-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan, vegetarian, and keto-friendly.*
- For More Product Information: Visit the Trader Joe’s website at www.traderjoes.com.
*Always read the ingredient and nutrition statement prior to consumption. Ingredients, processes, and labeling are subject to change at any time for any company or product. Contact the company to discuss their manufacturing processes if potential allergen cross-contamination is an issue for you. No food product can be guaranteed “safe” for every individual’s needs. You should never rely on ingredient and allergen statements alone if dealing with a severe food allergy.
Average Reader Review
0 out of 5 stars (based on 0 reviews)